U.S. Postal Service Honors Ten Twentieth-Century Poets With Stamps

Posted on September 2, 2011

Twentieth Century Poet Stamps

The U.S. Postal Service has announced it will launch a stamp series honoring ten poets in 2012. The Twentieth-Century Poets stamp pane is pictured above. The pane's verso includes an excerpt from one poem by each of the poets featured on the pane.

The ten poets honored include Elizabeth Bishop, Joseph Brodsky, Gwendolyn Brooks, E. E. Cummings, Robert Hayden, Denise Levertov, Sylvia Plath, Theodore Roethke, Wallace Stevens, and William Carlos Williams. These poets won numerous Pulitzer Prizes, National Book Awards, and honorary degrees.

Art director and stamp designer Derry Noyes selected the photographs used in the stamp art. The stamps will issued as Forever stamps in 2012.

Photo: U.S. Postal Service

More from Writers Write