L. Ron Hubbard’s Writers of the Future Contest

Deadline: June 30, 2023

Top Prize: $1,000 cash top prize

Other Prizes: $750 second and $500 third place quarterly prizes, plus an annual $5,000 grand-prize winner.

Entry Fees: None

Frequency: quarterly

Late Submission Period Available?: no

Website: Writers of the Future

Twitter: @WotFContest

The L. Ron Hubbard's Writers of the Future Contest is a quarterly contest that awards cash prizes of $1000, $750 and $500. There is no fee to enter the contest. The contest is held four times a year with the cash prizes awarded every three months. It is open to original science fiction, fantasy and dark fantasy short stories up to 17,000 words in length.

There is also an annual award. Each year a panel of judges select one story from the quarterly 1st place winners as the grand-prize winner. The grand-prize winner receives the L. Ron Hubbard Golden Pen Award and an additional $5000 cash prize.

The contest is named after science fiction writer L. Ron Hubbard. It was established in 1985. Top science fiction authors have served as judges of the contest over the year. The winning stories are also published in an annual anthology, L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of Future.

More Contest Listings

Return to the Writing Contests homepage.