Scholastic Anounces DC Comics: Secret Hero Society Novels

Posted on September 23, 2015

Scholastic has announced it will publish three DC Comics: Secret Hero Society novels. The novels will be based on DC Comics super hero characters. They will be written and illustrated by Dustin Nguyen and Derek Fridolfs.

The first book, Study Hall of Justice, will be published in February 2016. Scholastic says the novel reimagines Batman, Superman, and Wonder Woman as middle-grade students in a mysterious school. Bruce Wayne is the new kid at Ducard Academy, a prep school for gifted kids. Young Bruce does not fit in at the school and he befriends two outsiders very familiar to comics fans, Clark Kent and Diana Prince. The three young super heroes form a detective squad to find out what the faculty at the school is plotting.

Dustin Nguyen says in a statement, "I don't know what it's like to shoot lasers from my eyes, fly an Invisible Jet, or dress like a bat. But I remember my years in school fondly and tried to tap into that. And when in doubt, it doesn't hurt to write in ninjas or have class clowns throwing pies."

The second novel in the series will come out in Spring 2017. It will feature Arthur Curry (Aquaman), Victor Stone (Cyborg) and other young super heroes.

Update: Study Hall of Justice is now available for purchase from

More from Writers Write