IMPAC Dublin Literary Award

The International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award was established in 1995. The award has been given annually since 1996. It is administered by Dublin City Public Libraries and is a joint initiative of Dublin City Municipal Government and the company IMPAC. The aim of the award is to promote quality literature on an international basis. The award is open to works of fiction written in or translated into English, and libraries in major cities throughout the world make the nominations. The prize of �100,000 is the world's richest literary prize for a single work of fiction.

2004 This Blinding Absence of Light by Tahar Ben Jelloun, translated the French by Linda Coverdale |

2003 My Name is Red by Orhan Pamuk, translated from the Turkish by Erdag M. G�knar |

2002 Atomised also published as The Elementary Particles by Michel Houellebecq, translated by Frank Wynne (Heinemann and A.A.Knopf & Vintage) |

2001 No Great Mischief by Alistair MacLeod |

2000 Wide Open by Nicola Barker |

1999 Ingenious Pain by Andrew Miller |

1998 The Land of Green Plums by Herta M�ller (translated from the German by Michael Hofmann) |

1997 A Heart So White by Javier Marias, translated from the Spanish by Margaret Jull Costa |

1996 Remembering Babylon by David Malouf |