Writers Invited to Join Academy

Posted on June 23, 2007

A select group of writers have been invited to join the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences. The writers are:

  • J.J. Abrams - Mission: Impossible III, Armageddon

  • Michael Arndt - Little Miss Sunshine

  • Guillermo Arriaga - Babel, 21 Grams

  • Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck - The Lives of Others

  • Patrick Marber - Notes on a Scandal, Closer

  • William Monahan - The Departed, Kingdom of Heaven

  • Peter Morgan - The Queen, The Last King of Scotland

  • Billy Ray - Breach, Shattered Glass

  • Erin Cressida Wilson - Fur: An Imaginary Portrait of Diane Arbus, Secretary

    New members will be welcomed into the Academy at an invitation-only reception at the Fairbanks Center for Motion Picture Study in Beverly Hills in September. Congratulations to the new members!

    More from Writers Write

  • Melania Trump Reads The Little Rabbit by Nicola Killen for Easter
  • Val Kilmer Publishing Memoir with Simon & Schuster
  • Cats Film Could Boost Interest in T.S. Eliot's Poetry Despite Box Office Losses
  • Christopher Paolini to Publish Science Fiction Novel with Tor Books
  • Scholastic to Publish The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes