Shortlist for William C. Morris YA Debut Award Announced

Posted on December 12, 2008

Five authors are finalists for the new William C. Morris YA Debut Award. The award begins in 2009 and will be given to a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature.

The award is named after William C. Morris, who was an innovator in the publishing world and an advocate for marketing books for children and young adults. The Morris Award will be awarded annually at ALA's Midwinter Youth Media Awards.

Those who made the shortlist are Elizabeth Bunce's A Curse Dark as Gold, Kristin Cashore's Graceling, James Lecesne's Absolute Brightness, Christina Meldrum's Madapple and Jenny Valentine's Me, the Missing and the Dead.

The winner will be announced on January 26, 2009.

More from Writers Write