Poetry News Page: 4

This is page 4 of the poetry news archives...

Donna Tartt Wins Pulitzer Prize for Fiction for The Goldfinch (2014-04-14): Donna Tartt wins the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction for The Goldfinch, Vijay Seshadri wins the poetry prize.

National Book Award Judges Named for 2014 (2014-04-01): The National Book foundation has announced the judges for the 2014 National Book Awards. The entry form closes on May 15th for submissions.

J.R.R. Tolkien's Beowulf Translation Will Be Published for the First Time in May (2014-03-20): Houghton Mifflin will publish J.R.R. Tolkien's Beowulf translation. Christopher Tolkien says his father expanded the backstories of the heroes and beefs up the dragon parts.

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie Wins National Book Critics Circle Award for Fiction (2014-03-15): Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie has won the National Book Critics Circle Award for Fiction for her novel Americanah. Frank Bidart won the Poetry prize.

Frank X Walker Wins NAACP Image Award for Poetry (2014-02-26): Frank X Walker is the winner of the NAACP Image Award for Poetry. Walker is ccurrently the Kentucky Poet Laureate.

Two New Poems By Greek Poet Sappho Discovered on Ancient Papyrus (2014-02-14): Researchers have recovered two new poems by Greek poet Sappho on a papyrus fragment.

HarperCollins to Release Shel Silverstein's The Giving Tree as Ebook (2014-02-06): HarperCollins will release Shel Silverstein's The Giving Tree as an ebook for the first time.

Herbie Hancock Named Harvard University's 2014 Norton Professor of Poetry (2014-01-18): Grammy winning pianist and composer Herbie Hancock has been named Harvard University's 2014 Norton Professor of Poetry.

Sinead Morrissey Wins 2013 T.S. Eliot Prize for Poetry (2014-01-16): Sinead Morrissey is the winner of the 2013 T.S. Eliot Prize for Poetry. She has been shortlisted for the prize a total of four times.

Scottish Poet Douglas Dunn Wins 2013 Queen's Medal for Poetry (2014-01-06): Scottish poet Douglas Dunn is the winner of the 2013 Queen's Medal for Poetry

Amazon.com Launches Short Story Imprint Called StoryFront (2013-12-08): Amazon.com launches new short story imprint called StoryFront. It will publish short works and poetry by emerging and established authors.

Amazon Launches Day One, a Digital Publication Dedicated to Short Fiction and Poetry (2013-10-31): Amazon has announced the launch of Day One. Amazon describes Day One as a digital publication dedicated to short fiction and poetry.

2013 National Book Awards Finalists Announced (2013-10-16): MSNBC announced the finalists for the National Book Awards this morning. The finalists include Jhumpa Lahiri and Thomas Pynchon.

Alice Oswald Wins Warwick Prize For Memorial, a Reworking of Homer's The Iliad (2013-09-25): Alice Oswald is the first poet to win the Warwick Prize for Writing. She won for her poem, Memorial, which is a version of Homer's Iliad.

Philip Levine Wins Wallace Stevens Award (2013-09-25): Philip Levine has been named the winer of the Wallace Stevens Award. The prize is award by the American Academy of Poets and carries a $100,000 cash prize.

E.L. Doctorow and Maya Angelou to be Honored by National Book Foundation (2013-09-07): Dr. Maya Angelou and E.L. Doctorow to be honored by the National Book Foundation for their contributions to writing and their humanitarian work.

Nobel Prize Winning Poet Seamus Heaney Dead at 74 (2013-08-30): Nobel Prize for Literature winner Seamus Heaney died at the age of 74. The renowned Irish poet died of complications of a stroke he suffered in 2006.

Sinead Morrissey is Belfast's First Poet Laureate (2013-08-16): Sinead Morrissey is Belfast's first Poet Laureate. She will produce a series of poems about Belfast.

Bestselling Indian Author Vikram Seth Blows Book Deadline, Asked to Return 1 Million Pound Advance (2013-07-14): Author and poet Vikram Seth asked to return 1 million pound advance after missing the deadline for the sequel to A Suitable Boy.

U.S. Poet Laureate Natasha Trethewey Gets Second Term (2013-06-11): The Library of Congress has appointed Natasha Trethewey to a second term as U.S. Poet Laureate