J.K. Rowling, Gene Luen Yang and Ruth Ozeki Win L.A. Times Book Prizes

Posted on April 14, 2014

The 34th annual Los Angeles Times Book Prize ceremony was held on Friday night at Bovard Auditorium at the University of Southern California. Awards were given for the best books of 2013 in ten different categories. In addition to the book categories, there were two other prizes given. Young adult author and activist John Green won the Innovator's Award. 2013 Robert Kirsch Award was given to novelist, short story author and teacher Susan Straight.

J.K. Rowling won the prize for best Mystery/Thriller: for her novel The Cuckoo�s Calling (Mulholland Books/Little, Brown & Company). Rowling wrote the book under the name Robert Galbraith. Ruth Ozeki won the Fiction Prize for her novel A Tale for the Time Being (Viking). Here are the other winners:

More from Writers Write

  • Melania Trump Reads The Little Rabbit by Nicola Killen for Easter

  • Katy Perry Wins Dark Horse Copyright Case After Federal Judge Overturns Jury Decision

  • London Book Fair Canceled Over Coronavirus

  • Facebook Appears to Target Pinterest with New Hobbi App

  • Val Kilmer Publishing Memoir with Simon & Schuster