Writing Competitions, Prizes and Awards

The following is a list of established writing competitions, prizes and awards. You can find a list of upcoming writing-related contest and award deadlines organized by date on the writing contests homepage. There are also writing scholarships available to students.

Ambroggio Prize
The Ambroggio Prize is a $1,000 prize for a book-length poetry manuscript originally written in Spanish with an English translation. The award is provided by the Academy of American Poets. It was established in 2017.

Griffin Poetry Prize
The Griffin is the world's largest prize for a first edition single collection of poetry written in English. It was founded In April 2000. It includes a Canadian prize and an international prize.

James Laughlin Award
The $5,000 prize is given to support a second book of poetry. It is named after poet and New Directions publisher and founder James Laughlin. The award is provided by the Academy of American Poets. It has been offered since 1954.

Jeff Sharlet Memorial Award for Veterans
The Jeff Sharlet Memorial Award is a creative writing contest for U.S. military veterans and active duty personnel. It is hosted by The Iowa Review and made possibly bya gift from the family of Vietnam veteran and antiwwar writer Jeff Sharlet.

Kingsley Tufts Poetry Awards
The Kingsley Tufts Poetry Awards include a $100,000 award for a poetry book from an already published poet and a $10,000 Discovery Award for afirst collection of poetry. The awards are based at Claremont Graduate University.

Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize
The Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize is an annual award recognizing the most outstanding book of poetry published in the United States. The $25,000 award was established in 1975. It is provided by the Academy of American Poets.

Lindquist & Vennum Prize for Poetry
The annual Lindquist & Vennum Prize for Poetry awards $10,000 and publication by Milkweed Editions to a poet residing in Minnesota, Iowa, North Dakota, South Dakota, or Wisconsin. The award was established in 2011 to support outstanding poets from the upper Midwest.

Nelson Algren Literary Award
The annual short story contest from the Chicago Tribune is named after American writer Nelson Algen. Information about the award is usually announced in November.

New York Public Library Young Lions Fiction Award
The New York Public Library Young Lions Fiction Award is an annual award honoring young writers. The $10,000 prize is awarded each spring to a writer age 35 or younger for a novel or a collection of short stories. The winner is chosen from five finalists select by a reading committee.

PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction
The PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction is a national prize honoring the best published works of fiction by American citizens in a calendar year. Three writers as chosen as judges and asked to select five books as finalists. The winner receives $15,000 and four finalists receive $5,000 each.

Pulitzer Prizes
The Pulitzer Prizes are presitgious annual writing awards honoring journalism, fiction, nonfiction, poetry and music. The award includes a certificate and a $15,000 cash prize. The prizes were established in 1917.

Pushcart Prize
The prize honors the best poetry, short fiction and essays published in small presses each year. He prize is awards by Pushcart Press which publishes an annual anthology. It has been published every year since 1976.

Sami Rohr Prize for Jewish Literature
The Sami Rohr Prize for Jewish Literature is an annual award given to encourage and promote oustanding writing of Jewish interest. The $100,000 prize is given to an emerging writer. Ficton and nonfiction are considered in alternative years. The prize is administered by the Jewish Book Council.

St. Francis College Literary Prize
The St. Francis College Literary Prize is a bieannual $50,000 literary prize sponsored by St. Francis College to support mid-career authors. The first prize was given in 2009.

Steinbeck Fellowships in Creative Writing
The Steinbeck Fellows Program offers new writers a $10,000 fellowship to finish a significant writing project. The fellowship is run by San Jose State University and endowed by Martha Heasley Cox.

W.Y. Boyd Literary Award for Excellence in Military Fiction
The W.Y. Boyd Literary Award is an annual award honoring the best fiction set in a period when the United States was at war. It consists of a $5,000 prize and 24k gold-frame citation. The award is administered by the American Library Association.

Walt Whitman Award
The Walt Whitman Award is a $5,000 prize for a first poetry book. It was established in 1975 to help and encourage emerging poets. The poetry book will be published by Graywolf Press. The award is supported by the Academy of American Poets.

Windham-Campbell Literature Prizes
The Windham-Campbell Literature Prizes were established in 2011 and honor English language writers in fiction, drama, nonfiction and poetry. The winners receive a $165,000 cahs prize to support their writing. They are based at Yale and the Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library.

Writing Contests


Copyright © 2020 by Writers Write, Inc. All Rights Reserved.