Arthur C. Clarke Award

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is awarded every year to the best science fiction novel which received its first British publication during the previous calendar year. The Award was established with a generous grant from Arthur C. Clarke with the intention of encouraging science fiction in Britain. The Award was set up in 1986 and the first winner was announced in 1987.

2002 Bold As Love by Gwyneth Jones

2001 Perdido Street Station by China Mieville |

2000 Distraction by Bruce Sterling |

1999 Dreaming In Smoke by Tricia Sullivan |

1998 The Sparrow by Mary Doria Russell |

1997 The Calcutta Chromosome by Amitav Ghosh |

1996 Fairyland by Paul J. McAuley |

1995 Fools by Pat Cadigan |

1994 Vurt by Jeff Noon |

1993 Body Of Glass by Marge Piercy |

1992 Synners by Pat Cadigan |

1991 Take Back Plenty by Colin Greenland |

1990 The Child Garden by Geoff Ryman |

1989 Unquenchable Fire by Rachel Pollack |

1988 The Sea And Summer by George Turner |

1987 The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood |