Nelson Algen Literary Award

Deadline: February 17, 2020

Top Prize: $3,500 grand prize

Other Prizes: Five finalist prizes of $750 each.

Entry Fees: None

Frequency: annual

Website: Nelson Algren Submittable Page

The Nelson Algren Literary Award is an established annual contest for original short stories named in honor of Chicago literary writer Nelson Algren. The award is run by the Chicago Tribune. It has been held annually since 1981.

Authors enter through the Nelson Algren submittable page. Stories must be written in English, double-spaced, and no longer than 8,000 words.

The contest offers a total of 6 prizes. There is a grand prize for $3,500 and five finalist prizes of $750 each.

The next upcoming contest is usually announced in November of each year. You can read about past winners on

More Contest Listings

Fish Poetry Prize - deadline March 31, 2023

Wergle Flomp Humor Poetry Contest - deadline April 1, 2023

Return to the Writing Contests homepage.