The Nelligan Prize for Short Fiction

Deadline: March 14, 2021

Top Prize: $2,000 plus publication

Entry Fees: $15 entry fee

Late Submission Period Available?: no

Website: Colorado Review

Twitter: @Colorado_Review

The Nelligan Prize for Short Fiction is an annual short story contest established in 2004 in memory of Liza Nelligan, a writer, editor, and friend of many in Colorado State University’s English Department.

The winner of the contest receives a $2,00 honorarium and publication in the Colorado Review.

You can submit online through Submittable or submit your story via regular mail. The contest has a $15 entry fee for each story. Stories must be previously unpublished. The winner will be announced by mid-June 2020.

You can read stories by previous winners on the website.

More Contest Listings

BlueCat Screenwriting Contest - deadline December 13, 2020

Blue Mountain Arts Poetry Card Contest - deadline December 31, 2020

The Nelligan Prize for Short Fiction - deadline March 14, 2021

Return to the Writing Contests homepage.