U.S. Postal Service Honors Ten Twentieth-Century Poets With Stamps

Posted on September 2, 2011

The U.S. Postal Service has announced it will launch a stamp series honoring ten poets in 2012. The Twentieth-Century Poets stamp pane is pictured above. The pane's verso includes an excerpt from one poem by each of the poets featured on the pane.

The ten poets honored include Elizabeth Bishop, Joseph Brodsky, Gwendolyn Brooks, E. E. Cummings, Robert Hayden, Denise Levertov, Sylvia Plath, Theodore Roethke, Wallace Stevens, and William Carlos Williams. These poets won numerous Pulitzer Prizes, National Book Awards, and honorary degrees.

Art director and stamp designer Derry Noyes selected the photographs used in the stamp art. The stamps will issued as Forever stamps in 2012.

More from Writers Write

Writing Contests
upcoming contests
Write Jobs
find a job
Writing Memes
funny writing-related memes
Stephen King Quotes
quotes from the master
Grammar Tips
improve your writing
Writing Prompts
spark your creativity