Scott O'Dell Historical Fiction Award

Established in 1981 by Scott O'Dell, the Scott O'Dell Historical Fiction Award is an annual award presented for a work of historical fiction for children or young adults published by a U.S. publisher and set in the New World.

2001 The Art of Keeping Cool by Janet Taylor Lisle

2000 Two Suns in the Sky by Miriam Bat-Ami

1999 Forty Acres and Maybe a Mule by Harriette Robinet

1998 Out of the Dust by Karen Hesse

1997 Jip: His Story by Katherine Paterson

1996 The Bomb by Theodore Taylor

1995 Under the Blood Red by Sun Graham Salisbury

1994 Bull Run by Paul Fleischman

1993 Morning Girl by Michael Dorris

1992 Stepping on the Cracks by Mary Downing Hahn

1991 A Time of Troubles by Pieter Van Raven

1990 Shades of Gray by Carolyn Reeder

1989 The Honorable Prison by Lyll Becerra de Jenkins

1988 Charley Skedaddle by Patricia Beatty

1987 Streams to the River, River to the Sea by Scott O'Dell

1986 Sarah, Plain and Tall by Patricia MacLachlan

1985 The Fighting Ground by Avi

1984 The Sign of the Beaver by Elizabeth George Speare