Independent Ebook Awards

The Independent Ebook Awards were designed to recognize and reward talent in electronic books and digital storytelling from authors with independent publishers and self-published authors. The awards were created in September of 2000 as the result of a collaboration between Sunny Ross, founder and executive director of the Digital Literature Institute and editor-in-chief of Mystic-Ink, one of the first online communities for readers and writers, and M. J. Rose, author of Lip Service, the first ebook discovered online by the mainstream publishing industry.

Note: The Independent Ebook Awards appear to have ceased.


Nessie and the Living Stone by Lois June Wickstrom and Jean Lorrah (CrossroadsPub)

Mozart's Wife by Juliet Waldron (Online Originals)

Short Fiction and Nonfiction:
The Cavemen in the Hedges by Stacey Richter (Zoetrope All-Story)

Digital Storytelling:
Homecoming by Pamela Gay (Self-published)

Nonfiction Award:
The Spirit of the Internet by Lawrence Hagerty (Matrix Masters)