The Man Booker Prize

The Man Booker Prize was formerly known as The Booker Prize or Booker McConnell Prize, when it was sponsored by Booker McConnell Ltd. The prestigious award is awarded to the best full-length novel written in English by a citizen of the UK, the Commonwealth, Eire, Pakistan, or South Africa.

2004 The Line of Beauty by Alan Hollinghurst

2003 Vernon God Little by D. B. C. Pierre

2002 The Life of Pi by Yann Martel

2001 True History of the Kelly Gang by Peter Carey

2000 The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood

1999 Disgrace by J.M. Coetzee

1998 Amsterdam by Ian McEwan

1997 The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy

1996 Last Orders by Graham Swift

1995 The Ghost Road by Pat Barker

1994 How Late It Was, How Late by James Kelman

1993 Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha by Roddy Doyle

1992 -- Tie The English Patient by Michael Ondaatje

1992 -- Tie Sacred Hunger by Barry Unsworth

1991 The Famished Road by Ben Okri

1990 Possession by A.S. Byatt

1989 Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro

1988 Oscar and Lucinda by Peter Carey

1987 Moon Tiger by Penelope Lively

1986 The Old Devils by Kingsley Amis

1985 The Bone People by Keri Hulme

1984 Hotel du Lac by Anita Brookner

1983 Life and Times of Michael K by J.M.Coetzee

1982 Schindler�s Ark by Thomas Keneally

1981 Midnight�s Children by Salman Rushdie

1980 Rites of Passage by William Golding

1979 Offshore by Penelope Fitzgerald

1978 The Sea, the Sea by Iris Murdoch

1977 Staying On by Paul Scott

1976 Saville by David Storey

1975 Heat and Dust by Ruth Prawer Jhabvala

1974 -- Tie The Conservationalist by Nadine Gordimer

1974 -- Tie Holiday by Stanley Middleton

1973 The Siege of Krishnapur by J.G.Farrell

1972 G by John Berger

1971 In a Free State by V.S.Naipaul

1970 The Elected Member by Bernice Rubens

1969 Something to Answer For by P.H.Newby