Library of Congress Releases List of Authors Scheduled to Speak at 2012 National Book Festival

Posted on May 26, 2012

The Library of Congress has released a list of authors and poets scheduled to speak at the 12th annual Library of Congress National Book Festival. Philip Roth, Mario Vargas Llosa, T.C. Boyle, Geraldine Brooks, Patricia Cornwell, Jeffrey Eugenides, and poet Nikky Finney will be among more than 100 writers speaking at the festival. The free public festival will be held on Saturday, Sept. 22 and Sunday, Sept. 23, 2012, between 9th and 14th streets on the National Mall.

Other authors and poets slated to appear at the festival include Natalie Babbitt, Bob Balaban, Robert Caro, Stephen L. Carter, Sandra Cisneros, Michael Connelly, Junot Diaz, Thomas Friedman, Joy Harjo, Steve Inskeep, Walter Isaacson, Jewel, Poet Laureate Philip Levine, Mike Lupica, Lois Lowry, David Maraniss, Chris Matthews, Walter Dean Myers, Mary Pope Osborne, Chris Raschka, Marilynne Robinson, Lisa Scottoline, R.L. Stine, Elizabeth Dowling Taylor, Craig Thompson, Colson Whitehead and Daniel Yergin.

An estimated 200,000 people attended the festival in 2011. The website for the National Book Festival can be found here.

More from Writers Write