2011 National Book Award Finalists to be Announced on Think Out Loud

Posted on September 14, 2011

National Book Awards 2011 LogoThe 20 finalists for the 2011 National Book Awards will be announced live on Think Out Loud, a morning program from Oregon Public Broadcasting (OPB). The finalists will be announced in front of a live audience at the new Literary Arts Center in Portland, Oregon from 9:06 to 9:59 a.m. PST on Wednesday, October 12, 2011.

The finalists in all four categories will be announced. 2001 National Book Award Winner Virginia Euwer Wolff will announce the five Young People's Literature finalists; 2009 National Book Award finalist Vern Rutsala will announce the Poetry finalists; 2010 National Book Award judge Sallie Tisdale will announce the finalists in the Nonfiction category; and 1990 National Book Award winner and former judge Charles Johnson will announce the Fiction finalists.

David Miller, host of OPB's daily talk show, Think Out Loud, will emcee the broadcast at the new Literary Arts Center.

The Awards will be given on Wednesday, November 16, 2011 at a gala benefit in New York City. The winner in each category - Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry and Young People�s Literature - will receive $10,000. The finalists will receive $1,000 each.

Image: National Book Awards