Tan Twan Eng Wins Man Asian Literary Prize

Posted on March 19, 2013

The Garden of Evening Mists

Tan Twan Eng won the 2012 Man Asian Literary Prize for his novel, The Garden of Evening Mists. He is the first Malaysian author to win the prize. The awards carries a $30,000 cash prize.

The novel is set in Malaya following the Japanese occupation. Professor David Parker, executive director of the Asian Literary Prize, said in a statement, "Achieved with the seemingly effortless poise of a remarkable fictional artistry, Tan Twan Eng's winning novel will be prized by all those who cannot resist the mastery of language."

In a release the Asian Literary Prize says the current sponsor, Man Group, will be relinquishing its title sponsorship. A new title sponsor is being sought for the 2013 prize.

Photo: Weinstein Books

More from Writers Write

  • Salman Rushdie is Writing Novel With Trump-Like Villain

  • Javaka Steptoe Wins 2017 Caldecott Medal for Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat

  • New York Times Dumps Comics and Mass Market Paperback Bestseller Lists

  • Kelly Barnhill Wins 2017 Newbery Medal for The Girl Who Drank the Moon

  • A French Translator Describes the Difficulty of Translating President Trump