Shortlists for 2014 PEN Literary Awards Announced

Posted on June 19, 2014

The shortlists for the 2014 PEN Literary Awards have been announced. There are nine categories of shortlists. One of the most lucrative prizes is the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize awards $25,000 to an author whose debut work represents distinguished literary achievement and suggests great promise. This prize is open to a a first novel or collection of short stories published in 2013. The judges this year are Charles Bock, Jonathan Dee, Fiona Maazel, and Karen Shepard.

The Bingham Prize shortlist consists of: The PEN/Diamonstein-Spielvogel Award for the Art of the Essay awards $10,000 and is given for a book of essays published in 2013 that exemplifies the dignity and esteem that the essay form imparts to literature. The judges for this award are Geoff Dyer, Stanley Fish, Ariel Levy, and Cheryl Strayed.

Here is the shortlist for the Diamonstein-Spielvogel Award: The winners will be announced on July 30th. On September 29th, the winners will be honored at a ceremony at the New School's Tishman Auditorium.

You can see all the shortlists here.
More from Writers Write

  • New York Times Dumps Comics and Mass Market Paperback Bestseller Lists

  • Kelly Barnhill Wins 2017 Newbery Medal for The Girl Who Drank the Moon

  • A French Translator Describes the Difficulty of Translating President Trump

  • A Princess and an Author: Carrie Fisher Taken Too Soon

  • Trump Typo Causes 'Unpresidented' to Trend on Twitter