Women Writers Dominate 2015 Nebula Awards

Posted on May 16, 2016

Cover of Uprooted by Naomi Novik

Women writers won five of the six categories at the 2015 Nebula Awards this year. The annual awards are given by Science Ficiton & Fantasy Writers of America. The awards ceremony was held at the SFWA Nebula Conference in Chicago.

Naomi Novik won in the novel category for her novel Uprooted (Del Rey). Her fantasy novel is also a Hugo Award finalist. It involves a wizard protecting a quiet town from evil. The wizard, known as the Dragon, provides his protection at a terrible price - he requires one young woman handed over to serve him for ten years.

The only award won by a man this year was the Ray Bradbury Award, which went to Mad Max: Fury Road. Here is a list of the winners in the other categories: You can find a list of all the nominees here.

Photo: Del Rey

More from Readers Read

  • Bill Clinton and James Patterson Collaborate on Mystery Novel

  • Ted Cruz Says Al Franken's New Book is Full of Covfefe

  • Amazon Launches Amazon Charts Most Read and Most Sold Lists

  • James Franco to Narrate Stephen King's The Dead Zone Audiobook

  • Melania Trump Reads Party Animals at White House Easter Egg Roll