Harry Potter Hoax Revealed

Posted on November 9, 2007

Several news outlets ran stories with rumors of an eighth Harry Potter book called James Potter and the Hall of Elders. A website, EldestCrossing.com was set up using the official Warner Bros. logo for the Harry Potter films. The site asks for a special password which you can get by clicking the magic bean in the right, lower-hand corner. The message says that the site will be live soon. But it was all a hoax. The site is registered to 1&1 Internet, Inc., 701 Lee Road, Suite 300, Chesterbrook, PA, 19087. Harry Potter News and Rumors reports:
Rumors of an eighth Harry Potter book have plagued the fandom for years, even after vehement denials by JK Rowling and her representatives. Well, we can put another to rest. A few news articles detailing a professionally crafted web site called Elder's Crossing have popped up recently that seem to hint at a new story named James Potter and the Hall of Elder's Crossing. HPANA can now confirm that it is not connected in any official way to the series.

"Jo has not written an eighth book in the series and is not doing so," Rowling's agent Neil Blair has told HPANA. "So no James Potter book I'm afraid."

UPDATE: Warner Bros. also assures us the site is not connected to them.
So, there you have it. No eighth Potter book, alas.

More from Readers Read

  • Amazon Launches Amazon Charts Most Read and Most Sold Lists

  • James Franco to Narrate Stephen King's The Dead Zone Audiobook

  • Melania Trump Reads Party Animals at White House Easter Egg Roll

  • Sean Spicer Reads How to Catch the Easter Bunny at White House Easter Egg Roll

  • Professor Allan J. Lichtman Predicts Trump Impeachment in New Book