David Duchovny's First Novel to be Published in February

Posted on January 21, 2015

Holy Cow by David Duchovny

David Duchovny is now an author. His firt novel, Holy Cow: A Modern-Day Dairy Tale, will be published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux in February. Duchovny describes the book as "a fable for adults and children" in the vein of Animal House or Charlotte's Web. A black and white cow white its legs stretched out is pictured on the cover.

A cow named Elsie Bovary is happily living her life on a farm in upstate New York when she discovers that she is headed for the slaughterhouse. Determined to save her own live, she teams up with Shalom, the Jewish pig, and Tom the turkey to escape their fates.

Elsie wants to get to India after she learns that cows are sacred there. Shalom thinks life in Israel will be grand as they keep kosher. Tom thinks he will be spared the axe if he goes to Turkey which he thinks must have been named after him. They set out on their adventures and then "hijinks ensue." Along the way they unite both Palestinians and Israelites.

The illustrated book showcases Duchovny's thoughts on pop culture and politics all wrapped up in an adventure tale. Headline Books Publishing released a book trailer for the novel in which Duchovny explains the plot. Take a look:



Photo: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

More from Readers Read


  • Ted Cruz Says Al Franken's New Book is Full of Covfefe


  • Amazon Launches Amazon Charts Most Read and Most Sold Lists


  • James Franco to Narrate Stephen King's The Dead Zone Audiobook




  • Melania Trump Reads Party Animals at White House Easter Egg Roll


  • Sean Spicer Reads How to Catch the Easter Bunny at White House Easter Egg Roll