2011 Costa Book Award Winners Announced

Posted on January 7, 2012

Costa Coffee has announced the Costa Book Awards 2011 winners in the Novel, First Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children's Book categories. The winners each receive a check for 5,000 pounds (about $7,800 U.S.). They will also each be up for the 2011 Costa Book of the Year, which will be announced on January 24. The winner will receive another 30,000 pounds (about $46,275 U.S.).

Britain's poet laureate Carol Ann Duffy was the winner in the poetry category for her book, The Bees. Andrew Miller defeated 2011 Man Book Prize winner Julian Barnes to claim the Costa Novel Award.

Costa Book Awards 2011 Winners

More from Readers Read

  • Harry Potter History of Magic Books to Published in Conjunction With Exhibition

  • Donna Brazile to Publish Book About Hacked 2016 Election

  • Behold the Dreamers by Imbolo Mbue is Latest Oprah's Book Club Pick