National Book Award Judges Named for 2014

Posted on April 1, 2014

The National Book Foundation has named the judges for the 2014 National Book Awards. Five judges were selected for each of the four categories for which awards are given: fiction, nonfiction, poetry and young people's literature. On September 10th the judges will announced the longlist of books in each categories. The finalists will be named on October 15th and the awards will be named on October 15th.

The fiction judging panel consists of author Geraldine Brooks (March), bookseller Sheryl Cotleur, author Michael Gorra (Portrait of a Novel: Henry James and the Making of an American Masterpiece), author Adam Johnson (The Orphan Master's Son, and author Lily Tuck (The News from Paraguay.)

The Poetry panel consists of Eileen Myles (The Importance of Being Iceland), Katie Peterson (This One Tree), Rowan Ricardo Phillips (The Ground), Robert Polito (Hollywood & God), and Paisley Rekdal (The Night My Mother Met Bruce Lee).

You can see the bios of all the judges here.
More from Writers Write

  • Salman Rushdie is Writing Novel With Trump-Like Villain

  • Javaka Steptoe Wins 2017 Caldecott Medal for Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat

  • New York Times Dumps Comics and Mass Market Paperback Bestseller Lists

  • Kelly Barnhill Wins 2017 Newbery Medal for The Girl Who Drank the Moon

  • A French Translator Describes the Difficulty of Translating President Trump