Longlist for 2014 Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction Announced

Posted on March 29, 2014

The longlist for the 2014 Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction has been announced. The prize was formerly known as the Orange Prize. The list will next be reduced to six and a winner will be announced on June 4, 2014. The winner will receive a check for 30,000 pounds and a limited edition bronze called Bessie. This year's judges include Helen Fraser, Mary Beard, Denise Mina, Caitlin Moran and Sophie Raworth.

Helen Fraser, Chair of Judge, said in a statement, "The judges feel that this is a fantastic selection of books of the highest quality � intensely readable, gripping, intelligent and surprising - that you would want to press on your friends, and the judges have been doing just that. There was a great deal of talent and exciting writing in the books that were submitted this year and we hope that between now and the announcement of the shortlist on 7th April many readers will want to share the enjoyment we have had with these 20 terrific novels."

Here is the 2014 longlist: You can find more information about the prize at: womensprizeforfiction.co.uk.
More from Writers Write

  • Salman Rushdie is Writing Novel With Trump-Like Villain

  • Javaka Steptoe Wins 2017 Caldecott Medal for Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat

  • New York Times Dumps Comics and Mass Market Paperback Bestseller Lists

  • Kelly Barnhill Wins 2017 Newbery Medal for The Girl Who Drank the Moon

  • A French Translator Describes the Difficulty of Translating President Trump