Writer's Blog at Writerswrite.com

WGA Announces 2014 Writers Guild Awards Screen Nominations

The WGA has announced the nominations for the 2014 screenplay awards. The winners will be honored at the 2014 Writers Guild Awards on Saturday, February 1, 2014. Zero Dark Thirty won the Original Screenplay award in 2013 and Argo won the 2013 prize for Adapted Screenplay. Here are this year's nominees:

Original Screenplay:
  • American Hustlez, written by Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell (Columbia Pictures)
  • Blue Jasmine, written by Woody Allen (Sony Pictures Classics)
  • Dallas Buyers Club, written by Craig Borten & Melisa Wallack (Focus Features)
  • Her, written by Spike Jonze (Warner Bros.)
  • Nebraska, written by Bob Nelson (Paramount Pictures)
Adapted Screenplay:
  • August: Osage County, screenplay by Tracy Letts; based on his play(The Weinstein Company)
  • Before Midnight, written by Richard Linklater & Julie Delpy & Ethan Hawke, based on characters created by Richard Linklater & Kim Krizan (Sony Classics)
  • Captain Phillips, screenplay by Billy Ray; based on the book A Captain's Duty: Somali Pirates, Navy SEALS, and Dangerous Days at Sea by Richard Phillips with Stephan Talty (Columbia Pictures)
  • Lone Survivor, written by Peter Berg; based on the book by Marcus Lutrell with Patrick Robinson (Universal Pictures)
  • The Wolf of Wall Street, screenplay by Terence Winter; based on the book by Jordan Belfort (Paramount Pictures)
Documentary Screenplay
  • Dirty Wars, written by Jeremy Scahill & David Riker (Sundance Selects)
  • Herblock - The Black & The White, written by Sara Lukinson & Michael Stevens (The Stevens Company)
  • No Place on Earth, written by Janet Tobias & Paul Laikin (Magnolia Pictures)
  • Stories We Tell, written by Sarah Polley (Roadside Attractions)
  • We Steal Secrets: The Story of Wikileaks; written by Alex Gibney (Focus Features)
A full list of nominees in all categories can be found here on wga.org.

Posted on January 5, 2014

comments powered by Disqus
Technical Writing
Writer's Bookstore


Copyright © 2005-2014 by Writers Write, Inc. All Rights Reserved.